Capturing the elusive nature of the creative spirit

I have not posted on here in quite a while. I have been writing various things, but nothing on here. The trick is trying to prioritize and carve out time, between a full time job and a dozen different writing projects.

It made me wonder though. Why is writing so hard? Why do we struggle to do something that we love? Why is it often easier to just sink into a new t.v. show than to create something of our own?

I believe that we all have a creative spirit in some way or another. Some choose to develop and pursue it, others do not. But even when you do pursue it, writing is hard. Sometimes the words flow, but they don’t make any real sense. Sometimes the words dry up like a river bed, and everything you thought you were going to write about just falls into the cracked, parched earth.

For a long time I would just write when I felt like it, but as you can see by the unproductive nature of my blog recently, that isn’t a good plan. So what is a good plan? How do we capture something as elusive as the creative spirit?

To be honest, it kind of feels like a futile venture. To put in scriptural terms, like striving after wind (Ecclesiastes). But we do create. Some people are extremely productive, churning out project after project for weeks, months and years at a time. Are these people supernaturally empowered with something that is beyond us?

No. They have just come to the realization that the only way to achieve anything is to get it done.

Anyone who considers themselves a writer has the ability to be a writer. Some are more naturally talented than others, but one thing that is certain, no matter how gifted you are, you just have to sit down and work.

I looked for the magic formula. I tried to wait on my creative muse. I told myself I wasn’t ready yet and that when I was, it would happen. I convinced myself that working a full time job and coming home to a wife and four kids somehow excluded me from being an effective writer.

As I sit here, I emerge from wallowing in this fantasy and I realize that I am a writer. I have been a writer. I will be a writer. The only thing standing between me and that truth, is doing it.

Now, will I be a famous writer? Will I write the next great American novel, or create a series that becomes a Hollywood movie trilogy? Probably not. But, I can and will be a writer. I am a writer. I can capture the elusive creative spirit and I can bend it to my will.

When?

I was thinking sometime at about half past four, next Thursday or Friday.

Or, I could just go ahead and start now.

Only time will tell.

Keep watching this space.

Or perhaps another space… like a bookshelf near you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

