Is that your monster under the stairs?

To: gilandreas@gmail.com

is that your monster under the stairs?

 

Hey Gil,

It was great to see you all last night, Kelli and I were just saying we don’t see you guys enough. I can’t believe how much Louis has grown. He looked like he was feeling a lot better, maybe if he is feeling up to it you could all come over to our place next time, if we have everything sorted and unpacked by then.

Anyway, there was something I meant to talk to you about yesterday, but I didn’t really know how to bring it up. When we came over, it was when we were waiting for you to answer the door. I was looking through that little side window, and,  I saw a tail, sticking out from under the door under the stairs. It swished across the carpet, but when you came to answer the door, it disappeared, back under the stairs.

I thought at first I might be seeing things, but when we came in, I noticed the marks on the carpet, there were obvious, but sort of hard to define where they came from. Kelli saw it too, and she said I should just ask, but, you had your hands full with Louis, and Karen didn’t seem like she was, well, you both have a lot going on.

I was going to drop it, but then I saw it again when we left. It was a weird, scaly looking thing with spikes on it or something. So I thought I should just check and see if that was your monster under the stairs.

Just let me know, and if you need to talk, about this or, Louis, or anything, give me a call.

Jay

 

 

To: jaydouglas@gmail.com

Re: is that your monster under the stairs?

 

Hey Jay,

 

Look, thanks. It was good to see you. Louis hasn’t laughed like that in a while. It even made Karen smile. I don’t know if we will be in any shape to visit you though, it takes a lot out of him, even just being out of bed like that. Maybe we can get a sitter or something, if I can drag Karen out for a bit.

I don’t know anything about the tail though buddy. I think maybe you were just imagining it. I don’t have a monster under the stairs. I”ll check with K but I doubt she knows anything about it either.

Thanks for asking though. Keep us in your prayers. Louis has another round of tests this week. We are praying that they can find something this time, at least so we can give this thing a name.

 

Gil

 

……..

 

To: gilandreas@gmail.com

Re: is that your monster under the stairs?

 

Hey man,

Not sure if Karen told you, but I called over there this morning. I wasn’t trying to pry, actually just came over to give you back those DVD’s you lent me. Karen looked upset, so I asked if she had any coffee. I thought maybe she might need to just unload, you know.

I tried talking to her, asking how things were going, but she didn’t want to get into it. So I just hung out for a few, waiting on the coffee, and, I saw it again. I heard a noise at first, so i excused myself and went to check it out. I saw it in the living room, sitting there, sniffing around and chewing on the couch. It’s tearing your house up Gil, and I know you can’t see it, but believe me, it’s there. I tried to face it, but the thing took off, all scaly and slimy. It ran back under the stairs to hide, like I wasn’t supposed to know it was there.

I told Karen to stay in the kitchen, and I went under the stairs to see where this thing was going. I think you are going to need some help. It ate through the floor and all the way down to the foundation. I tried to tell Karen what was going on, but she didn’t want to hear it. She got upset and threw me out. I’m sorry if you catch any flack for me going over there. I wasn’t trying to rile anyone up. But I seriously think you guys need to get this monster taken care of, before does any more damage.

Let me know if I can help.

J

……..

 

Gil. Was thinking. Maybe the monster

isn’t yours. Maybe it’s Karen’s. She’s

been so tore up about Louis, it could

be her manifesting it, ya know.  4:45

 

It’s not Karen. Drop it. Please. 4:47

Something’s off. Let me help. Trust me 5:03

 

Leave it be Jay. I’ll handle it. 6:33

 

……..

 

To: jaydouglas@gmail.com

Re: is that your monster under the stairs?

 

Karen kicked me out. I confronted her about it. I asked her about the monster and she got mad. This is your fault Jay. Now I lost her. I lost everything. Don;t bother trying to fix it. You did enough.

 

Gil

 

……….

 

Gil. I’m sorry. You know I was trying

to help. 2:00 AM

 

Hey, call me, let me talk to you,

help you figure this out. 2:37 AM

 

Gil, come over here tonight. Stay

here until we can fix this, 3:14 AM

 

…………..

 

To: gilandreas@gmail.com

Forget the monster. Call me

 

Hey, please call me.

I know you are mad. I get that. But you’ve known me for how long now? Do you really think

I would try to hurt you. I wasn’t looking to mess things up. I know how hard things

have been for you and Karen. I just want to help.

Yeah, that sounds like a load of crap doesn’t it. It’s true. But i know it doesnt help you right now,

Just call me, or just come over. We can sort this all out.

 

………..

 

To: Kandreas44@gmail.com

I am sorry

 

Karen, this is my fault. I stuck my nose in when I should have left well enough alone. I

planted the idea in Gil’s head, about the monster being yours. I’m starting to sound like

a broken record, but I was just trying to help. I feel awful that I made such a mess of this.

Look, Gil won’t respond to me. I think he’s in a really bad way. I’m worried about him and

I know you are too. If you can get a hold of him, tell him I’m a jerk for getting in the middle

of this. But tell him I still want to help, if he will let me, and if you want me to.

I know a guy who might be able to help both of you. He is a monster hunter. He’s sort

of an expert. He helped me out a few years ago when I was going through some bad things

and he found my monster and helped me kill it. It hurt. It hurt a lot, facing my own monster,

but I’m glad I did it. I couldn’t have done it on my own though. I didn’t really say much at the

time, because you and Gil had just started going through treatments with Louis, but my

monster got so bad it nearly killed me. I can’t let the same thing happen to you guys, to Gil.

Please try to get through to him, and if you will let me, I will help.

 

I love you guys.

 

Jay

 

……….

 

To: jaydouglas@gmail.com

Re: I am sorry

 

Hey,

I knew something was wrong, I just didn’t want to face it. I’ve been so wrapped up with Louis,

I just didn’t want to admit that there was another issue. I haven’t seen it, but I can feel it. It’s

been in the house for months.

I will call Gil and ask him to come home, but only if he agrees to get help. I’m sorry I blew

up at you, I know you were trying to do the right thing.

 

Thank you

Karen

 

……..

To: Kandreas44@gmail.com

Re: I am sorry

Thanks Karen. He will listen to you.

Hey look, if it’s ok with you, I’m going to pass on your info to my buddy, Jack. He deals with this sort of thing for a living. I think he might want to talk to you first, get your take on what’s going on, before he talks to Gil.

I know he can help him track down this monster. I can’t promise this will be easy, but i can promise I will be there to help him, and you. I don’t think I have your cell number, can you send it to me so I can pass it on.

Just shoot me a text: 555-XXX-XXXX

 

Thanks

 

Jay

 

……..

 

Sure Jay, have him give me a call. 6:14

Will do. We will get this sorted out. 6:22

Thanks 6:30

………..

 

To: Kandreas44@gmail.com, jaydouglas@gmail.com, gilandreas@gmail.com

Hunting Monsters

 

Hello Gil,

My name is Jack Killian. I help people hunt and kill their own monsters.

The first thing you need to know – this will get better, but only if you face it.

I know this is a hard time for you, and there are things going on in your life that make you feel helpless. But you are not helpless, and this is not hopeless. You have people who love you and who will help you. You have people in your life who need you and who want you to be strong for them too.

Okay, that was the peptalk. Now we need to face facts.

You have to come home. You have to face your monster, and you have to kill it, before it tears you and your family apart.

Jay and I went to see Karen. She told me how things have been, and how much you are both struggling. I saw the monster Gil. I saw the damage it has already inflicted. It’s easy to miss when you’re in the middle of the struggle, but I’m used to the signs.

The house is crumbling under the weight of your monster. It was buried deep, and it is destroying the foundations. I chased it, but I can’t face it. It runs from anyone but you. I can help you find it and I can help you kill it, but you need to be the one to make the choice to stand.

You need to do this.

Karen is wounded. You haven’t seen it because you are so clouded by fear and grief. The monster is killing her Gil. The wounds will get worse and worse, until you stop. She needs you. Your family needs you.

The scars will heal. It may be a long battle, but the key to victory over this monster, is you.

Go home and talk to Karen about it, then give me a call. We will schedule an appointment and get this whole monster thing taken care of.

 

Jack Killian P.H.D.

Monster Hunter

555-xxx-xxxx

jk@hunter.net

 

……………

 

Gil, check your email. please 8:40

 

 Yeah. I got the email.

I will think about it.

Not promising 9:01

 

 

Gil, if you come and see Jack

he can help you see the monster.

If you still don’t see it, I will leave you

along, I promise. 10:34

 

*alone 10:35

 

              I see the monster. I always knew

      it was there. I’m scared Jay.

I don’t have the strength

   to face it. I can’t do it 11:16

 

 

Then let me in. Let Karen in.

We will face it together. 11:18

 I called Karen. I told her

that I will try. 12:19

Good luck. Call me if you need

me 12:47

 

………….

 

 To: jaydouglas@gmail.com

Hey….

 

So, I guess i was kind of a jerk to you. I wasn’t really with it. There was so much going on, and I just felt like you were adding onto it by pointing out what I was trying to ignore. So, I’m sorry.

Anyway, I met with Jack. He is… interesting.

He’s actually a really nice guy, but he was so over the top, it took me a while to get used to him. He did open my eyes though. I saw the monster, finally. And, I saw what it had been doing to my family. I feel like crap, for letting it get that far. I think if I’d tackled it sooner, the monster might not have gotten so big.

I faced it though. Jack helped me track it down and corner it. We had to trap it first, and honestly, it was the scariest thing I’ve ever done. I was hoping he would bring a weapon of some kind. Some sort of epic monster slaying sword or something. But he said I needed to face it alone, without any kind of crutch.

Really getting up close like that, seeing it, scales and all, I don’t have the words for it. To think that something like that came from me – I can’t believe it. I killed it though, with my bare hands. It took hours, and it didn’t die easy. Jack was there, and Karen too. I feel better, after facing it. But I’m tired, very tired.

Jack says that really finishing it off could take a long time. He said these kind of monsters can rear their ugly heads weeks or months later. I know now though, how deadly it is to keep everything inside. I know what this monster feeds on, how it loves isolation and fear. I think I can keep it at bay, even if it comes back.

Karen said, maybe you could come over this weekend, for a meal and a movie, if you like. I told her we should try to get out though, maybe get a sitter and get out of the house. See if Kelli wants to go grab a bite to eat, and maybe we catch that movie you wanted to see.

Gil

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

